What is a Chakra, anyway?

You’ve no doubt seen the word “chakra” popping up in various places. My yoga instructors talk about the chakras and I often see it in descriptions of gemstones and crystals. But what exactly is a “chakra”?

Chakra is a Sanskrit* word that means “wheel”. Chakras are considered to be the energy centers of the ethereal** body. You cannot physically see or feel the chakras. However, it is said that these spinning vortices conduct our life energies and, when active and in balance, they keep us physically and mentally healthy.

Here is a list of the seven primary chakras and their Sanskrit names. They correspond to locations in the physical body and are associated with specific colors. They are listed from the bottom up (literally).

1st – the ROOT Chakra (Muladhara) – base of spine – RED

2nd – the SACRAL Chakra (Svadhisthana) – lower abdominal area – ORANGE

3rd – the SOLAR PLEXUS Chakra (Manipura) – solar plexus – YELLOW

4th – the HEART Chakra (Anahata) – heart area – GREEN (also PINK)

5th – the THROAT Chakra (Vishuddha) – throat area – BLUE

6th – the BROW or THIRD EYE Chakra (Ajna) – area between the eyes – INDIGO

7th – the CROWN Chakra (Sahasrara) – crown of the head – VIOLET

Chakra Colors

Chakra Colors

Although I’m not a Chakra expert, I will share what I am learning.

Follow my blog to find out more about the Chakras, including how to activate, unblock, and balance them, and hopefully, improve our lives.

More to come…

*Sanskrit is an ancient language of India and Hindu scriptures. It is one of India’s twenty-two official languages but is mainly used as a ceremonial language in Hindu religious ceremonies.

**Ethereal is defined as celestial or spiritual.


6 thoughts on “What is a Chakra, anyway?

  1. Pingback: Gregory Smith ~

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s