Sunday Dinner: Zucchini, Mushrooms, and Onions, Oh My!

You say that you don’t like zucchini, mushrooms, and onions? Hmmm. Where have I heard that before? While my sons were growing up, I learned to be creative with veggies, like adding zucchini in with my homemade tomato sauce and then pureeing the sauce so that no one, except me, would know it was in there. My sons’ taste buds have grown up a bit since then and they are usually willing to try anything, especially if they have done the cooking.

Although there are many ways to prepare fresh summer vegetables, to me grilled veggies always taste better. And if you add a tasty dressing before you grill, they will be even better. Even if the dressing is simply bottle salad dressing. Choose an Italian dressing with olive oil and you can’t go wrong. Here are a few additional ideas and tips.

I like using grill grates for my veggies since they get soft and could fall through onto the gas grill’s flavorizer bars and burners. What a mess! You could also use aluminum foil.

My favorite marinate for all summer vegetables that I intend to grill is simple. I usually marinate my vegetables for about an hour, but one time I prepared them and our dinner plans changed. I didn’t grill them until two days later. The eggplant was a little soggy, but the zucchini and mushrooms were fine. I grilled them all and they were great!

Grilled Vegetable Marinade

¼ cup balsamic vinegar

½ cup extra virgin olive oil

2 cloves garlic, chopped or minced

Basil and/or oregano*  – about 1 Tablespoon fresh or 1 teaspoon dried

Salt and pepper

Mix ingredients about 20 minutes before you cut up the veggies so the flavors have time to mingle.

*I prefer using fresh herbs but I always have dried herbs in the cabinet for those times when fresh is not available.

 Mess-less Marinating  (useful technique for any veggies)

Zucchini (or other squash) – peel and cut lengthwise into ½ – ¼ inch thick slices. Throw the slices (gently please) into a plastic bag and dump salad dressing on them. Let them marinate for 10 minutes or so before you grill them. Toss the plastic bag and the mess!

 

Note: If this looks familiar, it’s a slightly updated version of my post from last summer on my previous blog. Next week’s Sunday Dinner will be brand new. I promise.

Leave a Reply

