Reading… I’m always a little behind.

I read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins a few years ago and loved it. I like to read young adult books (someday I hope to write a young adult novel), so it fit in with the others on my reading wish list. I wanted to read the trilogy, but only The Hunger Games was in paperback, so being a bit frugal, I waited.

In the fall of 2012, I  finally broke down and bought the hardback versions of Catching Fire and Mockingjay. But they sat on the bookshelf while I spent my time… well… not reading them. Last year I read blogs, Facebook posts, print magazines, and articles online. I read about the chakras, gemstones and other jewelry-related research topics. I read some fiction on my then new iPad mini, such as Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, which was… well… peculiar. But I didn’t finish The Hunger Games trilogy.

Finally, I’m catching up with Catching Fire. If I can carve out the time in my schedule, I’ll finish it today. Collins has done a great job with this series. I like the characters and the story moves at just the right pace. I cannot tolerate boring books and this is definitely not boring to me.

In a way, this trilogy reminds me of a few other books I read in years past, such as:

The City of Ember and The People of Sparks by Jeanne DuPrau. I enjoyed them both several years ago. I don’t know where I’ve been hiding, but I just recently found out that there are two more books in the series. The first book was made into a movie in 2008.

How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff.  This book was made into a movie in 2013. Who knew? Not me.

My bookshelf is full of books I haven’t read, yet. I plan to read them all in 2014… and then some.

What’s on your bookshelf?

Leave a Reply

