Tweeting Frenzy

Earlier this week I joined the Etsy Meet N Tweet team. It has been interesting, to say the least.

First I followed all members of the team on Twitter, as required. Then the members started following me back. As I am grateful for new Twitter followers, I have been thanking them… one at a time… all 278 of them. (I just looked and the number of members is up to 314)

Before joining Etsy Meet N Tweet, I had acquired 328 Twitter followers over the course of about 18 months. I did it all on my own. I guess the people followed me because they liked my tweets. I think that’s a good thing.

Now, in a matter of a few days, I am up to 488 followers and it’s growing by the hour. Obviously not all of the team members have followed me, yet, but if they all do, I will have more than doubled my followers within a couple of weeks.

The purpose of this team is to increase everyone’s presence on Twitter by tweeting, retweeting, and favoriting each other’s tweets. This is supposed to give your business more exposure and more importantly, sales. It’s a major undertaking. There are a couple of apps that make it more automatic, but if you want to have some control over what is tweeted, it’s a fairly time consuming task.

All team members are supposed to be following the tweeting rule of thirds, with only one third as links to the products in our Etsy stores. One third should be informational links and one third responses and questions for your followers.

The links to products are easy as long as you aren’t spamming with a gazillion of them. The retweeting is done automatically with an app – I set limits on the number of tweets it can post in my name.

I’ve been posting information and informational links for at least six months. I think that’s why people have been following me. I respond to people who retweet and follow but I haven’t yet found the types of questions that followers will feel compelled to answer. I’m working on it.

Meanwhile, I’m tweeting a bit more that I have in the past.  I hope that the informational links I’m providing are interesting to my followers. Especially the people who chose to follow me before I joined this team and increased the number of my tweets. I hope they stick around.

As I work on writing compelling questions, please follow my progress on Twitter. 

What do you think about this type of increase in followers? Do you consider it worthwhile or just an artificial jump in numbers that won’t do a thing for my business or my Etsy shop?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tweeting Frenzy

  1. Hi Rita! Nice Blog! Thanks for posting the link in the team forum. I think you’ll find the team follows beneficial beyond the initial bump in number and not just for all the retweets but mostly for the camaraderie…we’re your Teamies! 😀

    Plus, your number will continue to grow for a host of reasons…new team members, the retweets/increased exposure, etsy-fu, hashtags and non-team members who follow the whole team….just the other day Fire Mountain Gem followed us!

    You are bound to loose some followers…that’s just the way of Twitter, there’s no way to please everyone and it’s for the best, it’s better people just unfollow rather than complain. However, if you build a lively, Etsy-Friendly Twitter, which is what we try to help each other do, people will gravitate to you and you will gain far more followers than you lose.

    In just a little over a year, since I opened my first Etsy shop and started Etsy Meet N Tweet, i’ve gained over 3500 followers with the help of the team, followers who have stuck with me through 4 shop changes! 🙂 One of the most important bits of insights I received early on that I always keep in mind, it is that most of the people who follow you do so for their own benefit, they are seeking a way to help themselves….BUT that’s okay, not a bad thing at all, if you are also about helping others get what they want…followbacks, shoutouts, retweets, tips, inspiration, encouragement…offer those things to your followers makes it a two way exchange.

    Again, nice blog! 🙂
    Clarissa
    Etsy Meet N Tweet, Team Cap
    https://www.etsy.com/teams/15782/etsy-meet-n-tweet

    Like

    • Hi Clarissa,
      Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment! You’re correct… it’s all about the give and take. And I believe that the more you give the more you will receive. See you in the team discussions!
      ~Rita

      Like

Leave a Reply

