Is it Lapis or Lapiz?



Lapis lazuli is one of my favorite gemstones. I love blue and a high quality lapis lazuli will contain gorgeous shades of deep, rich blues. As in the photo above, the lapis gemstones are often flecked with calcite, sodalite, and pyrite.

High quality lapis can be pricey. If you are shopping for stones or beads, you’ll usually find a wide selection of A- to D grade lapis lazuli stones at reasonable prices online from Fire Mountain Gems or ArtBeads or, if you have a business license, you could also search for wholesale vendors.

For the best quality, look for the A (or AA, AAA) graded gemstones. They will be the most expensive but upon close examination, you’ll understand why.

What’s the real difference between an A grade and a D grade? Remember back to elementary school and you’ll get the picture. Or read more about it here. 

I prefer to shop for my lapis lazuli gemstones in person as much as possible. Attending gems and bead shows or visiting rock shops is a must if you want to see, touch, and ask specific questions about the quality of the stones you are about to buy. Although when I shop in person, I invariably fall in love with the most expensive gemstones on the table.

Maybe next time I should take cash and leave my credit card at home.

As for the metaphysical properties of lapis lazuli, it’s energy is believed to enhance intuitive perception and psychic abilities. It opens the Third Eye chakra (Brow chakra). Lapis is also balances the Throat chakra, so wearing it as a necklace can help with truthfulness and communication. Learn more about chakras here.




Is There a Connection Between Gemstones and Chakras?

What is the connection between gemstones and Chakras?

When I started making gemstone jewelry a few years ago, I found myself gravitating to opaque gemstones: jasper, tiger eye, and lapis lazuli, to name a few. Much to my surprise, they all have fascinating histories and are believed to have metaphysical properties. Linking this to my recent study of the Chakras, I found that many gemstones play a significant role in balancing the Chakras and improving a person’s life.

Last Friday, I gave a basic overview of the seven primary Chakras. Each governs a particular area of the body and is activated by different colors.

Gemstones are also associated with the seven Chakras. Wearing or carrying gemstones is believed to stimulate or stabilize the corresponding energy centers (Chakras) of the ethereal** body.

Below I listed  the seven primary Chakras and a few of the gemstones that are associated with each. Upon further research you will find many others. Notice that some stones will work with more than one Chakra.

1st – the ROOT Chakra – (red) ruby, garnet, red jasper

2nd – the SACRAL Chakra – (orange) carnelian, citrine, topaz

3rd – the SOLAR PLEXUS – (yellow) tiger eye, amber, citrine

4th – the HEART Chakra – (green or pink) emerald, peridot, adventurine, rose quartz

5th – the THROAT Chakra – (blue) blue lace agate, turquoise, aquamarine

6th – the BROW or THIRD EYE Chakra – (indigo) sodalite, lapis lazuli, kyanite

7th – the CROWN Chakra – (violet) amethyst, lepidolite, quartz

It is recommended that the gemstones touch the skin to be most effective. Accomplish this by wearing a gemstone bracelet or necklace.

I’m always working to improve my jewelry-making skills and to combine them with my gemstone research. Check out my shop, Jularee Handcrafted Jewelry, to see some of my work. Read the item descriptions for metaphysical properties, Chakra and birthstone information for the specific gemstones in each design.

Which of my pieces speaks to you?

**Ethereal is defined as celestial or spiritual.